Backyard Friends

Each spring/summer growing up at my mom’s, I always looked forward to hummingbirds! Their delicacy and precision of flight at such great speeds is truly mesmerizing to me.

One of my hopes for our home was to have hummingbirds like my mom! Now, the number of hummingbirds my mom gets each year is kind of ridiculous and their behavior seems unnatural. I mean, do all hummingbirds land on a person’s finger?

(Picture from my mom’s house this past easter)

Chris and I recently put up a feeder in our backyard and we now have several birds who frequent our backyard! Unfortunately there isn’t the continual presents of these little cuties like at my mom’s house but it’s a start!

We didn’t have any red food coloring for our first batch of food but they drank it up anyways!

My mom has perfected the sugar-water mixture. Please don’t be tricked by the home stores selling hummingbird food, it’s just sugar-water and here’s the ratio:  1 cup of water to 2 cups sugar. If you search online, many sites list a higher sugar concentration but from my mom’s experience, it’s too much. Bring water to a boil, add sugar, stir till dissolved, let cool to room temperature before filling the feeder. You can keep extra food in the fridge!


This entry was posted in home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Backyard Friends

  1. Linda Brandon says:

    I do an even lower concentration of sugar, I have read as little as 1 part sugar to 6 parts water. I do 1/3 c sugar to 2 cups water, boil for 5 minutes and cool. We had to take down all of our feeders (seed and hummingbird) after we had 3 bear visit and grab the seed feeder. Be aware!

  2. A J says:

    I always admired humming bird photos that you posted earlier. It’s really great to see they actually land on your fingers. Keep posting what response you got at your place from the little birds. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

