Late Afternoon (must have/happen) Snack

When Chris and I get home from work we are starved… In the past we have just ‘snacked’ but this usually pushes dinner off to right before bedtime and that just isn’t forgiving. The last week and a half has changed however, and it has Mom written all over it!

If you stay over at my mom’s house, one of the first things you hear in the morning is, “would you like a fruit smoothie?!” When she picked me up from the airport a few months ago after we were evacuated from Japan she said, “I brought you a fruit smoothie!” I love it. I love my mom and her incredibly hospitable self and I LOVE how she loves her fruit smoothies.

For some reason, up until the other week, I have only seen fruit smoothies as Mom’s thing. The smoothies that she makes are SO GOOD that to be honest, I was left a little too intimidated to try my own hand at the craft. Well, I gave it a go and success!

How do we do it? Well, it’s a little of this and a little of that, fruit that is! Semi-specifically our smoothies consist of (makes two),

  • 1 6oz container of fruit on the bottom Chobani greek yogurt
  • two bananas
  • cup-ish of chopped (seedless) watermelon
  • cup-ish of frozen blueberries
  • whatever other soft fruit you have lying around

In Ethiopia my favorite drink was a ‘mixed.’ A mixed is a drink that is made with layers of blended fruits  the base being made out of blended avocados! It sounds strange but you would never guess it to be avocados. I loved the base layer so much that I ordered just an avocado drink on occasion.

(Stan and I have avocado drinks while our friend Wonde ordered the mixed. He stirred it up before the picture was taken. This trip was during the Summer of 2008)

Needless to say, fruit smoothies after work have solved our late night dinner problem.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late Afternoon (must have/happen) Snack

  1. A J says:

    I completely agree with you, My husband and I used to do same thing and skip the meal. Also is there any substitue to yogurt that would blend in this smoothie??

  2. Erin Kidwell says:

    I have been living off smoothies lately!! especially later on at night! And my husband loves avocado drinks, although i haven’t tried to find a good recipe yet. If you ever come across a good one i’d love to hear about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

